First Impression and Graffiti

 

 

IMG_7705

Upon arriving in Berlin, the first thing I noticed is the cities beauty. The rivers and trees caught my eyes immediately and were refreshing to see rather than just tall buildings in a big city. When I ventured throughout Berlin, I felt at home. The medium sized colorful buildings with a unique style put my mind at ease. The city of Berlin has a special feel and energy to it, it’s not too big, not too small, it’s just right. I haven’t felt this comfortable in a big city ever. Wherever I wondered, I did not feel threatened, alarmed or uneasy (this is rare for me in cities, especially for someone with anxiety) even the bad side of town, didn’t feel that bad. The whole American elitist idea that poor people are scary and will hurt you or steal from you and should be looked down on… I didn’t feel that at all. I felt sympathy for their problems and hard times and hoped things would get better.

 

IMG_7665

It’s strange how something back in America that usually gives me the chills, makes me feel uncomfortable, or reminds me to lock the car doors, puts me at ease in Berlin. I am talking of course about graffiti. It’s everywhere, literally, everywhere. It’s in the good neighborhoods, the bad neighborhoods, the bathrooms, and even on the Berlin wall. Graffiti explains something, it speaks to me… It tells me about a feeling, a way of expressing yourself that often represents a historical or political event when it comes to the huge murals on the side of buildings or on the Berlin wall. The fact of the matter is, here, graffiti is art. It’s beautiful, cool and brings out the best of the best of the local and even nationally known artist. Graffiti here tells a story. Whether it be a phrase, a picture or a signature, it adds a dimension to the city that makes you think about art. I thought I knew art, now that I am here, I have a better understanding of it. Before this trip, art had to be something obvious, clear and done by someone who knows what they are doing, now I think that art can be anywhere, by anyone and it can make your day a lot better.

IMG_7674 2

Leave a comment