Raving Iran

 

Watching a movie in a different language with English subtitles would most definitely offend and anger most Americans. They would want the film to be in English or nothing at all. Being at a night club that is outside with a large projector and a bar nearby, was my type of movie theatre. The cost was 6 euro with my college ID and honestly, I did not know what to expect. Before I knew it, I was being drawn into a documentary-style film that was about raving and partying in Iran which is not only frowned upon there, but illegal. The whole thing makes me realize how I take drinking alcohol or going out on the weekends for granted. The men in the video are DJ’s who threw secret parties at venues that aren’t exactly supposed to have them there. The men try to get legal permits to party and are denied. The police enter one of their parties and one DJ is arrested and temporarily put in jail. The two men find out about the possibility of leaving with connections and help with some euros. The climax of the movie is when one of the DJ’s is in the park at night breaking up with his girlfriend by saying “I’m going to Switzerland and never coming back.” which entices her to cry heavily and scream “how will I go on without you?!” This scene adds a 5th dimension to the movie and makes it seem more real. Throughout the film, some faces are blurred and due to legal reasons. Ultimately the two DJ’s get passports, go to Switzerland where they continue to DJ and try to get work visas. The DJ’s are amazed upon arrival and they love the simple freedoms, like girls being able to wear what they want, drinking alcohol, and being able to play their music. The film has an amazing Persian/Iran techno music that is addicting and makes you want to dance. As an American, I like this music and I want to find more. The film reminded me that the best things in life lie on the other side of fear and that taking risks is important if you want change.IMG_8090IMG_8064IMG_7724

 

 

 

Leave a comment